Award Recipients

Practical Farmers gives out three awards to members: the Sustainable Agriculture Achievement Award, the Master Researcher Award, and the Farmland Owner Award.

Sustainable Agriculture Achievement Award

Practical Farmers of Iowa gives this award to the person who has been most influential in creating vibrant communities, healthful food and diverse farms.

Master Researcher Award

The Master Researcher recognizes the efforts of those who have conducted extensive on-farm research and demonstration. The recognized farms have each conducted 20 or more on-farm research trials and hosted at least five Practical Farmers field days to share the knowledge gained over the years.

  • Rick Exner–Ames, Iowa (Story County)
  • Dick and Sharon Thompson — Boone, Iowa (Boone County)
  • Paul and Karen Mugge — Sutherland, Iowa (O’Brien County)
  • Tom and Irene Frantzen — New Hampton, Iowa (Chickasaw County)
  • Ron and Maria Rosmann — Harlan, Iowa (Shelby County)
  • Dordt College (Ron Vos) — Ireton, Iowa (Sioux County)
  • Neely-Kinyon Research Farm (Bob Burcham) — Atlantic, Iowa (Cass County)
  • Jeff and Gayle Olson — Winfield, Iowa (Henry County)
  • Doug Alert and Margaret Smith — Hampton, Iowa (Franklin County)
  • Don and Sharon Davidson — Grundy Center, Iowa (Grundy County)
  • Dave and Lisa Lubben — Monticello, Iowa (Jones County)
  • Dan and Lorna Wilson — Paullina, Iowa (O’Brien County)

Read the news release here.

Farmland Owner Legacy Award

The Farmland Owner Legacy Award was created to call attention to the need for improved landowner partnerships with farmers, and of the vital – but often unacknowledged – role non-operator landowners play in shaping the agricultural landscape, rural communities and opportunities for beginning farmers.