2016 Annual Conference

 January 22-23, 2016, Scheman Building, Ames

Celebrating 30 Years of Farmers Teaching Farmers

Fifty farmers and friends attended the first Practical Farmers annual meeting on a cold day in December 1985, and came away with a plethora of practical information shared by farmers about research and farming experiences. Thirty years later, the crowd has grown significantly, but the vein of the gathering stays the same: farmers teaching farmers how to improve their farms and communities.

Even more than the learning that takes place, attendees prize connections they make at Practical Farmers conferences, from life-long friends and mentors to new business partners. “It’s like attending a big family reunion,” some members say.

Attend the Practical Farmers of Iowa 2016 Annual Conference to strengthen these important relationships while learning from farmers about building community; being stewards of our natural resources; and creating viable farms, farmers, and food systems.

 

This year's highlights:

Pre-conference short courses, January 21-22

Growing Good Small Grains
Successful Establishment and Management of Orchard Trees
Partner event: Iowa Forage and Grassland Council’s conference will run concurrent with short courses

Keynote address, Common Characteristics of Successful Farmers, by John Kempf, farmer and founder of Advancing Eco-Agriculture

40 conference sessions, including: 
Cover Crops, Companion Crops and No-Till with Robin and Kelly Griffeth
Regenerative Grazing with Jim Elizondo
Goat Dairying and Value-Added Marketing with Leslie Cooperband and Wes Jarrell
Financial Literacy and Business Management with Richard Wiswall
Farmland Legacies with Angela Tedesco, Dale Nimrod and Jim French

Special this year: North Central Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (NCR-SARE) Farmers Forum, featuring farmers sharing information about their sustainable agriculture research, demonstration, and education projects.

Friday night potluckhosted by Ty and Bobbie Gustafson, where all can come together to share good food and company.


Thank you to all of our Sponsors and Exhibitors for the 2015 Annual Conference!

If you are interested in sponsoring the conference, please contact conference coordinator Kathy Eastman at keastman33@gmail.com, 515-255-0882 or Steve Carlson at steve@practicalfarmers.org, 515-232-5661

Level A

Contact: Jim Wichmann
Albert Lea, MN
jim@alseed.com
800-352-5247
Contact:  Jessie VanderPoel
Eden Prairie, MN
jessie.veanderpoel@
grainmillers.com
952-983-1277
Contact:  Elizabeth Juchems
Ames, IA
ejuchems@iastate.edu
515-294-5429
ISU Agronomy Dept/
Contact: Mary Wiedenhoeft
Ames, IA
mwiedenh@iastate.edu
515-294-3274
Contact:  Laura Crowell
Contct: Ken Budke
Waterloo, IA
pat@cedarfallsconstruction.com
319-939-0302
Contact:  William Akison
Springfield, MO
bill@health-lineconnection.com
417-619-4373
Waterloo, IA
Contact:  Zach Funk
Redfield, IA
zach@sunriseshed.com
515-979-8919
Contact:  Mike Gallagher
Aurora, CO
mgallagher@sunshinepaper.com
720-427-3417

Level B

Contact:  Janet Reents
West Des Moines, IA
jreents@schillgen.com
515-225-6195
Contact:  Dan Bewersdorff
Saranac, MI
dbewersdorff@herbrucks.com
616-902-8623
Contact:  Terry Johnston
Harlan, IA
tjohnston@htsag.com
800-741-3305
Contact:  Linda Naeve
Ames, IA
lnaeve@iastate.edu
515-294-8946
Contact:  David Baker
Ames, IA
baker@iastate.edu
515-252-7801
Contact:  Julie JG Minot
Ames, IA
jjgus@iastate.edu
515-291-9442
Contact:  Malcolm Robertson
Ames, IA
malcolmr@iastate.edu
515-294-1166
Contact:  Philip Kramer
Hardy, IA
philip.kramer@nimanranch.com
515-290-8636
Contact:  Joe Klein
La Farge, WI
joe.klein@organicvalley.coop
608-788-8811
Pro-Soil
Contact:  Wayne Volkl
Alburnett, IA
hitaga@fmtcs.com
319-329-9720
Contact:  John Whitaker
Urbandale, IA 
john.whitaker@ia.usda.gov
515-331-8480
Contact:  Brad Law
King City, MO
kcseedbl@gmail.com
660-483-0355

Level C

Contact:  Natalie Witschorik
Mason City,IA 
nwitschorik@agventuresalliance.com
641-494-2368
Contact:  Erika Brodersen
Ames, IA
erika@blueriverseed.com
800-370-7979
Contact:  Stephanie Enloe
Dubuque, IA 
stephaniee@cfra.org
319-594-1426
Contact:  Joe Bassett
Sycamore, IL
info@dawnequipment.com
815-899-8000
Contact:  Kristen and Justin Akers
Kellerton, IA
fodderworksmidwest@gmail.com
641-414-2176
Contact:  Ralph Altmaier
Coralville, IA
ralph-altmaier@uiowa.edu
319-335-4229
Contact:   James Holz
Grand Junction, IA
iacovercrop@gmail.com
515-370-4356
Contact:  Kathi Jenks
Shedd, OR
tjkartes@saddlebutte.com
Contact:  Jamie Hostetler
Bellevue, IA
jamie@emypeople.net
815-718-1100
Contact:  James Frantzen
Elma, IA
jfrantzen06@gmail.com
641-257-8122
Contact:  Laura Jackson
Cedar Falls, IA
laura.l.jackson@uni.edu
319-273-2705

Level D

Contact:  David Birky
Detroit Lakes, MN 
dgbari@tekstar.com
218-847-9351
Contact:  Alexandra Frantz
Marion, VA
alexandra@animalwelfareapproved.org
773-304-4155
Contact:  Cindy McCollough
Webster City, IA
cindy@bluestemorganic.com
515-832-2992
Cowsmo, Inc
Contact: Mandy Speerstra
Cochrane, WI
info@cowsmocompost.com
608-626-2571
Contact:  Aubrey Alvarez
Des Moines, IA
aalvarez@eatgreaterdesmoines.com
515-491-1891
Contact:  Craig Chase
Ames, IA
cchase@iastate.edu
515-294-1854
Contact:  Teresa Davenport
Perry, IA
teresa.davenport@fcsamerica.com
515-465-5673 x 16023
Contact:  Alix Paez
Johnston, IA
paezgei@mchsi.com
515-865-8834
Ficke Cattle Co. 
Contact:  Del Ficke
Pleasant Dale, NE
fickecattle@outlook.com
402-499-0329
Contact:  Colten Catterton
Bladen, NE
colten@greencoverseed.com
402-984-1631
Contact:  Tim Kruse
Des Moines, IA
greenlightrenew@gmail.com
515-250-4268
Contact:  Tammy Stotts
Des Moines, IA
tammy.stotts@iowaagriculture.gov
515-281-7657
Contact:  Dan Loy
Ames, IA
dloy@iastate.edu
515-294-1058
Contact:  Mike Robertson
Fort Dodge, IA
robertson@iowacentral.com
515-574-1943
Contact:  Penny Brown Huber
Ames, IA
pbrownhuber@iowachoiceharvest.com
515-232-1344 
Contact:  Ann Robinson
Des Moines, IA
recmail@iaenvironmentalcouncil.org
515-244-1194
Contact:  Deborah Bunka
Des Moines, IA
dbunka@iowafarmersunion.org
515-451-8492
Iowa Forage and Grassland Council
Contact:  Joan O’Brien
Des Moines, IA
joano@agribiz.org
515-262-8323
Contact: Marion Riggs Gelb
Des Moines, IA
mgelb@inhf.org
515-229-3712
Contact:  Matt Miller
Ames, IA
mattmill2@netins.net
515-971-9707
Contact:  Ann Russell
Ames, IA
arussell@iastate.edu
703-785-7124
Contact:  Chris Peterson
Clear Lake, IA 
cpeterson@netins.net
641-425-8760
Contact:  Randy Cummings
Winslow, ME
rcummings@johnnyseeds.com
207-238-5348
Contact:  Bert Strayer
LaCrosse, WI
bstrayer@laxseed.com
319-240-0561
Contact:  Joe Pedretti
Viroqua, WI
jpedretti@mosaorganic.org
608-637-2526
Contact:  Lauren Langworthy
Spring Valley, WI
lauren@mosesorganic.org
715-778-5775
Contact:  Len Nuest
Monticello, IN
lnuest@embarqmail.com
574-591-1989
Contact:  Linda Wells
Minneapolis, MN
linda@panna.org
612-284-5023
Contact:  Carman Rosburg
Ames, IA
crosburg@prrcd.org
515-232-0048
Contact:  Brad Young
Wausa, NE
brad@psseed.net
402-373-2514
Contact:  Faye Rudsenske
Albert Lea, MN
faye@hs35.net
507-373-2550
Contact:  Luke Gran
Nevada, IA
luke@prudenterra.com
515-451-1202
Contact:  Tom Wahl/Kathy Dice
Wapello, IA 
tom@redfernfarm.com
319-729-5905
Contact:  Pamela Ryan
Cedar Falls, IA 
pamela@stonebridgeltd.org
319-277-4277
Contact:  Suzan Erem
West Branch, IA 
suzan@silt.org
319-480-4241
Contact:  Amy Stoddard
Omaha, NE
astoddard@scoular.com
402-449-1417
Contact:  Carl Fredricks
Mt. Horeb, WI
carl@summertechnologies.com
608-437-4395
Contact:  Laverne Klecker
Hope, MN
laverne.klecker@sunopta.com
507-451-4724
Contact:  Jim Howk
West Des Moines, IA
howkj1@gmail.com
515-216-4304
Contact:  Doug Follmann
Webster City, IA
dfollmann@tcins.com
515-832-3787
Contact:  Jeff Jensen
Marion, IA 
jjensen@treesforever.org
515-320-6756
Contact:  Matt Rush
Troy, KS
rush.matt@yahoo.com
785-850-0397
Contact:  Nina Binsen
Des Moines, IA 
nina.biensen@ams.usda.gov
515-284-4488
Contact:  Greg Thessen
Des Moines, IA
nassrfoumr@nass.usda.gov
515-284-4340
Contact:  Chris Petersen
Ames, IA
cpetersen@w&Gmarketing.com
515-233-4773
Contact:  Bridget Holcomb
Ames, IA
info@wfan.org
515-460-2477
Contact:  Sarah Foltz Jordan
Princeton, MN
sarah@xerces.org
612-845-4531

Level E

Contact:  Risa DeMasi 
Salem, OR
risademasi@grasslandoregon.com
503-566-9000
Contact:  Steve Ferguson
Des Moines, IA
steve.feguson@iowa.gov
515-725-4928
Contact:  Kyra L. Rude
Ventura, CA
kyra@rinconvitova.com
800-248-2847
Contact:  Kim LaVoie
Fairfield, IA
ken@non-gmoreport.com
641-209-3426
Contact: Rod Swoboda
Urbandale, IA
rswoboda@farmprogress.com
515-505-1543
Contact:  Karen Knepper
Onslow, IA
info@welterseed.com
800-470-3325
Ames, IA
515-232-4094